4 min read

O'Donnell Leaving His Mark

Brendan O'Donnell had to wait until last year to get his shot in the Rider lineup. He's making the most of it.
O'Donnell Leaving His Mark

By JAY JOHNSON / For Jersey Baseball Nation

Brendan O’Donnell just wanted an opportunity when he joined Rider as a freshman. Now in his senior year, he has proven why he was deserving of the opportunity.

In 2022, O’Donnell put the Metro Atlantic Athletic conference on notice. O’Donnell earned Second-Team all-conference honors, was named to the MAAC All-Tournament Team and ranked second in the MAAC in RBIs with 58. O’Donnell also made history when he set a school single-season record and led the MAAC with 20 home runs. Heading into the weekend, Brendan has 30 home runs for his career – the Rider record of 33 is well within reach.

“My freshman year I didn’t have much of a chance,” O’Donnell said. “I was behind three seniors and had to take my chance and learn there.”

In O’Donnell’s freshman year he played in seven games and started three of them and finished the season with one hit, two runs and two RBIs. He used this as a learning opportunity and put his best foot forward heading into his sophomore year.

“My sophomore year was really my freshman year,” O’Donnell said. “I just wasn’t really ready to step on the field and learned a lot of things, especially being able to slow down the game. Being able to take that time between freshman summer to junior fall and being able to slow the game down and allow me to put strength on.”

The growth O’Donnell has gone through created a weapon that nobody was prepared for. By the time O’Donnell’s junior year arrived, he was destined to make waves. O’Donnell stepped into the role he had worked for and made the most of it. With the starting role achieved and the work put in throughout the offseason, O’Donnell made a name for himself that many others overlooked.

Throughout O’Donnell’s senior year teams have acknowledged the threat Brendan poses when up to bat. The once overlooked freshman is now a cause for concern as he can light up scoreboards and change the dynamic of the game in an instant.

“I think early in the season it was showing that it's not going to be the same this year,” O’Donnell said. “My name is highlighted on the lineup card now and teams know that this kid can hit the ball a little bit.”

“I’m getting pitched to a lot differently and I’m having to be more patient and that’s something in the beginning of the year I wasn’t doing a very good job of,” O’Donnell said.

O’Donnell knows that he has complete control when he is at bat and puts pitchers in precarious positions. With his confidence at an all-time high, he knows that teams will be extra cautious when he is at the plate. With the home run record secured, O’Donnell aims to be the best player he can be and help his team in any way possible.

“I would say the pressure of hitting that number 20 again isn’t really in my head. I already did it so what’s gonna happen if I don’t,” O’Donnell said. “Is someone going to take it away from me? No, it's there forever.”

O’Donnell’s focus in his senior year is to do anything and everything in his power to help Rider win another championship. The Broncs last won the MAAC championship in 2021 when O’Donnell was a sophomore. O’Donnell was not an integral part of this team and looks to power his team back to the big game as a senior.

Last year’s home run total is even more impressive as he accomplished this amazing feat while injured.

O’Donnell tore his labrum in the second game of the season while taking a checked swing on an inside fastball. After a night of rest and batting practice the next day, O’Donnell ended up hitting his first college homerun in his next at bat. O’Donnell got surgery two weeks after the season and missed all of summer ball and fall ball during his recovery.

While O’Donnell looks back at his record setting season last year, he also looks ahead at what is next for him this season and his goals once his time at Rider is up. O’Donnell has high expectations for himself and knows that he is fully capable of playing at the next level.

“I want to play professional baseball someday,” O’Donnell said. “Whether that’s hearing my name called or signing (as a free agent), that’s not really in my hands. Summer ball is going to be very important for me this year. That’s gonna be a chance where I really have an opportunity for myself personally. Everything else just takes care of itself.”